The average number of days injured workers in Texas spend away from work has decreased, according to a new report by the Texas Department of Insurance’s Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group.
In 2013, injured employees in Texas returned to work after 37 days on average, down from 47 days in 2012 and 51 days in 2011, 2010 and 2009, according to report, released by the department earlier this month.
Back, neck and shoulder injuries required the most days away from work, the report said, with back injuries taking an average of 53 days, neck injuries taking 56, and shoulder injuries taking 57. Injuries to the lower and upper extremities, on the other hand, required less time away from work away from work.
The report found that injured elderly employees (60 and older) returned to work faster than younger workers.
Employees 60 and older returned to work within 38 days on average, and the 40-to-49 age group returned to work within 46 days.
Female employees returned to work nine days faster than male employees on average. The department studied 277,246 employees injured from 2009 through 2013. A spokesman for the department said 2005 workers’ comp reforms contributed to the improvements in return to work rates.
Injured by a Workplace Accident?
Workplace injuries happen every day. Although many employees enjoy the benefit of workers’ compensation when they get hurt at work, they do not always realize that they could be entitled to further monetary damages.
If you were injured on the job, do not assume that workers’ compensation will be your only source of payment. Texas law allows injured employees to sue for personal injury damages against negligent third-party defendants. If your company does not subscribe to workers’ comp insurance, you can even sue your own employer.